A Winning Combination


Patrick Racing was founded by "Pat" Patrick in the early 1970s.  Our team is best known for winning the Indianapolis 500 on three occasions (1973, 1982, 1989), and the Indy car title twice (1976, 1989).  We have had great successes both on the track and in the oil fields; a trait we have embedded in our company culture.

Patrick Racing Team is proud of its: three Indy 500 wins, two Indy 500 seconds, and 3 National Championship Titles. In total, the team has accomplished 33 wins, 154 top five finishes, and 86 top ten, with total purses over $10 million.

We have proven our methods of gathering the right people for the right jobs. We hire only the top managers, drivers, and engineers so that they may sinergistically propel our team (businesses) to the number one position. Together, we have built a winning combination, creating a very bright and lucrative future. 



  • In 1975-1983, Patrick Racing built its own racing cars, which ironically became known as Wildcats.
  • As noted by the Michigan Motor Sports Hall of Fame, in 1978, Pat Patrick founded with Roger Penske the Championship Auto Racing Team (CART) sanctioning body for open wheel racing , and the “stepping stone” series, American Racing Series  (ARS) for new and upcoming drivers in the sport.  
  • The race team’s Chief Mechanic is Indy 500 Hall of Fame member, Jim McGee. According to the Motorsports Hall of Fame, McGee has 90 race wins, 9 national championships and 4 Indy 500 wins.
  • The Patrick Racing team had over 24 different drivers during its racing career. Some of the most recognizable names are: Mario Andretti, Emerson Fittipaldi, Gordon Johncock, Al Unser, and Adrian Fernandez.



Johnny Rutherford (1968-1972)                                                               

Swede Savage (1971-1973)

Gordon Johncock (1972–1984)

Wally Dallenbach, Sr. (1973-1978)

Roger Mears (1979)

Tom Bagley (1980)

Spike Gehlhausen (1980)

Gordon Smiley (1980)

Steve Krisiloff (1981)

Mario Andretti (1981–1982)

Danny Ongais (1983)

Chip Ganassi (1983–1984)

John Paul, Jr. (1984)

Pancho Carter (1984)

Emerson Fittipaldi (1984–1990)

Bruno Giacomelli (1984–1985)

Sammy Swindell (1985)

Rich Vogler (1985)

Don Whittington (1985)

Kevin Cogan (1986–1987)

Al Unser (1990)

Roberto Guerrero (1990–1991)

Danny Sullivan (1991)

Scott Pruett (1995–1998)

Raul Boesel (1997)

Adrian Fernandez (1998–2000)

 P. J. Jones (1999)

Jan Magnussen (1999)

Roberto Moreno (2000)

Jimmy Vasser (2001)

Townsend Bell (2001–2002)

Oriol Servia (2002–2003)

Al Unser Jr. (2005)


For more information, please visit the Patrick Racing Team webpage, or visit the subpage within our site.